Board and Staff

Our Board Members

The Ballaarat Mechanics’ Institute is a not for profit organisation, with a Board comprising of community members, usually for a period of three years, with the option of applying for reappointment. A position on the Board is voluntary, with members receiving no remuneration. The Board is responsible for governance and, within its financial limitations, has developed a strategic direction for the management of the Ballaarat Mechanics’ Institute.


BOARD Executive
President Mike Stephens
Vice President Paula Nicholson
Vice President Jane Valpied
Secretary Ross Furness
Treasurer Peter Dowling
Other Board Members Phil Roberts, David Berry, Andrew Miller, Prue Bentley, Terry Lloyd


  1. President is ex-officio on all committees
  2. Committees can co-opt members as needed
Organisation Staff
Executive Manager Colin Jackson OAM
Venue and Events Manager Sam McColl
Finance Officer Kevin Murnane
Librarian Rosemary McInerney
Volunteer Coordinator Marilyn Furness
Cultural Development & Services Manager Mark Potter
Art & Events Officer Katrina Hill
  • No products in the cart.